4 thoughts on “The Art of the Logo

  1. It’s fitting that after I posted this, WordPress had this comment for me:
    That isn’t writing at all, it’s typing. — Truman Capote

  2. I don’t know much about the logos of comic book companies, but the black and white logo looks like corporate nonsense. I don’t know, man. I’m not thrilled, but it also doesn’t effect me very much.

  3. Well, if you’re interested, here’s a link with logo evolutions for a handful of companies including DC.
    http://www.ispsd.com/10/history-of-corporate-brand-logos/
    Most of them change gradually over time, no big, sweeping changes to their design. They just update for the times.

    The weird thing about DC’s new logo is that it’s quite a departure and, as you said, looks very “corporate” and, if I may say, cold. I thought it was interesting how they were incorporating a page-turning look, but DC also produces live-action and animated television shows and movies. This logo kind of pigeon-holes them. Maybe Warner Bros has taken over those aspects entirely and they use DC as a consultant or contract worker. I’m not sure.

    DC Comics had just gone through a redesign in 2005 after having the same logo for 30 years. The whole thing just seems odd.

  4. The dirt on what it’s all about.
    http://www.geekrest.com/2012/01/dc-comics-unveils-gallery-of-new-logo-designs/
    This quote made me want to vomit, “– the D is strategically placed over the C with the upper right-hand portion of the D peeling back to unveil the hidden C – symbolizing the duality of the iconic characters that are present within DC Entertainment’s portfolio.”
    Pretentious bullshit.

    I will say that some of the more character-specific logos are really cool, but I don’t think they’re going to put them on the individual books. All they’ve done is make the logo coordinate with the book title’s color scheme.

Leave a Reply

