Happy Birthday, you old devil!

What a lovely Google Doodle to celebrate Charles Dickens’ 200th birthday!

I am not familiar with his works to the degree that I recognize all these characters. It reminds me of the following painting:

Dickens' Dream by Robert William Buss

What a tribute to the man that in his own time so many dozens of his imagined characters were recognizable to the general public. It’s easy to look at all of these caricatures of Victorian England and ignore the details that identify them individually. Which is exactly what I intend to do.

UPDATE: 12:15pm – One of my favorite bloggers (Minnesotastan) directed me to an interactive map of Dickensian London!

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, you old devil!

  1. After Shakespeare, Dickens is the second most adapted author. I’d like to see the above with famous adaptations – you know, like Kermit the Frog.*

    *Do you capitalize “Frog” in Kermit the Frog? Is Frog a title? A surname? I’m sure someone knows this, but heavens, I don’t feel like googling right now.

  2. Let’s see, there’s:
    Kermit the Frog
    Robin the Frog
    Gonzo the Great
    Sam the Eagle
    Rowlf the Dog
    Rizzo the Rat
    and
    Oscar the Grouch

    I think Frog is the highest title in the Hensonian Peerage. I imagine these titles are inherited, as Robin (Kermit’s nephew) is the heir apparent to the Frogship.
    It’s important to remember that Fozzie’s last name is Bear, and as it stands, Bear is not a title.

Leave a Reply

