Pixar Does Bad Archery Well

Thank, Wired.

3 thoughts on “Pixar Does Bad Archery Well

  1. That was a great article. I got the chance to shoot a bow and arrow a few times in junior high gym class, one of the few things I looked forward. I wish I had the funds to buy a bow and take it over to the local shooting range.
    “Oh, you guys have guns? Cute.”

  2. This teaser/clip is just about the best I’ve ever seen. Garden State’s teaser was brilliant, and still probably number one.

    I adore the article, too. Even if the guy is adding a bit of speculation, it demonstrates that PIXAR pays attention to the things other studios don’t.

  3. There are two kinds of trailers that I like. (Wil and I discussed this last night.)

    1) Garden State. A series of images which evoke the tone and visual style of the film. If the images of a film don’t sell the film, well….then how good can it be?

    2) A scene, like the one above for Brave, and kind of like the one for Prometheus. This gives me a sense of the narrative style and structure, as well as a taste for the characters and tone of the picture.

    These two approaches also prove to me that the filmmaker and the studio have confidence in the piece, and they believe that it should speak for itself. That’s right up my style.

    Everything else feels like an obnoxious ploy to get me to buy something that sucks. A polished turd is still a turd.

Leave a Reply

