Dan’s Top 5 Films

Five is an impossibly small number for selecting a Best Of. Maybe I could come up with my top 5 hot dogs or my top 5 shower heads, but for works of art, I can’t select five films without making fifty apologies.

What I’ve done is choose not my favorite films, but films that I consider perfect. There is no such thing as a perfect movie, but these are the five I would hold up to the sun-god as an offering while Wil sneaks around back and steals the sun-god’s fiery sword.

#5 – Straw Dogs

#4 – Bicycle Thieves

#3 – Raging Bull

#2 – Seven Samurai

#1 – The Thin Red Line

# 0 – Citizen Kane

◊ ◊ ◊

My all-time favorite film – Sherlock Jr.

◊ ◊ ◊

My all-time favorite movie to watch at the Music Box TheatreThe Third Man

◊ ◊ ◊

And I need to make an honorable mention; in fact, I call for a new category altogether:

The most I’ve ever cried at a film – Into the Wild

6 thoughts on “Dan’s Top 5 Films

  1. Man, you’re the second smart person I know who has listed The Thin Red Line as his favorite. I guess I should get around to watching it.

Leave a Reply

